School Governors

Governors of Winterbourne Junior Girls’ School

The Governing Body is constituted by an ‘Instrument of Government’ as defined and required by the Government. The Instrument sets out the categories, numbers and terms of office of governors:

  • Parent governors; at least 2
  • Staff governors; Head Teacher +1
  • Authority governors; 1

Co-opted governors; as determined by the governing body and no more than 1/3 where they are also eligible to be elected as staff governors when counted with the staff governor and Head Teacher.

The Governing Body sets the strategic direction, the vision and the ethos of the school.  In doing so it has a number of key responsibilities:

  • monitor and challenge the progress of the school in achieving its priorities
  • recruit and performance manage the Head Teacher
  • exercise employer responsibility
  • ensure the school meets its statutory responsibilities
  • ensure financial probity
  • ensure the premises are well managed
  • report to the school’s stakeholders

The purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school. This is achieved through:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The governors carry out these functions through its termly full meetings, visits to the school and the work of its two principal working parties:

  • Teaching and Learning (T&L)
  • School Business (SB)

Other committees are put together to deal with other functions including the Pay Review Appeal committee (PPA), The Way Forward committee (WFC) and the Headteachers Performance and Salary Review committee (HTPSR).

Governors, along with staff members, who regularly attend meetings of the Governing Body and its working parties must declare any business or personal interest that might influence any decision they may make especially in financial matters. Any governor with such an interest must declare it annually and notify the school of any changes that occur. Where there is a conflict of interest the governor must withdraw from the meeting and take no part in the discussions or vote. The agenda of each meeting requires governors and non-governors present to declare any interest they may have in any of the items to be discussed.

Governors Information

Please click on the tabs available below for more information.

  1. Our Governing Body

    Our Governing Body:

    Role First name Surname Appointed by Appointed Term end Teaching & Learning
    School Business
    Head Teacher Mary Berkeley-Agyepong Ex-officio by virtue of office as Head Teacher 01/09/2014 31/08/2099 y y
    Governor Stephen Beck Co-opted
    Chair Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee
    08/12/2016 07/12/2024 y y
    Staff governor Fauzia Bashir Staff 26/11/2020 25/11/2024 y  
    Governor Alice Bridle Co-opted 26/03/2019 25/03/2023 y  
    Governor Jane James-Jones Co-opted 09/07/2019 08/07/2023 y
    Governor Nikita Patel Co-opted 20/11/2018 19/11/2022 y
    Vice chair Adam Powley Co-opted
    Chair School Business Sub-Committee
    22/03/2017 21/03/2025 y
    Governor Lucy Durrant Co-opted 26/11/2020 25/11/2024 y
    Chair Justin Waite LA appointed 26/03/2019 21/03/2025 y y
    Governor Jawaid Syed Parents 26/11/2020 25/11/2024 y y
    Governor Parent Actively recruiting
  2. Governing Body Link Roles

    Governing Body Link Roles:

    Name Designation Committee Link Governor Staff link
    Mrs Mary Berkeley-Agyepong Head Teacher All
    Mr Justin Waite Chair

    LA Appointed

    SB  Chair Health & Safety, Asset Management  


    Louise Watts

    Fauzia Bashir

    Adam Powley Vice Chair


    SB Finance


    Louise Watts

    Marcia Anthony Watts

    Fauzia Bashir Staff T&L Art


    Gailia Powell

    Mark Sidwell

    VACANT Parent
    Mr Jawaid Syed Parent SB Music &

    Healthy Schools

    Kiran Qureshi

    Mary Berkeley-Agyepong

    Mrs Lucy Durrant Co-opted T&L RE, P4C 


    Helena Santos

    Heather Selvadurai

    Ms Nikita Patel Co-opted SB Vice Chair SEND


    Jo Wermig

    Carol Butler

    Mrs Jane James Jones Co-opted SB Safeguarding, PHSE, Mental Health and Wellbeing, LAC


    Tammy Scott Cree


    Mr Stephen Beck Co-opted T&L Chair





    Parental Engagement & Pupil Premium, More Able, Behaviour

    Helen Salthouse,

    Mark Sidwell

    Mary Berkeley-Agyepong

    Mrs Alice Bridle Co-opted T&L Vice Chair


    Spanish & PE

    Training and development


    Melania Gonzalez

    Tammy Scott Cree

    Octavo Clerking Service

    Mary Rider

    Mrs Tamryn Scott Cree            Deputy Head Teacher  (Observer) T&L Observer
    Ms Louise Watts SBM


    SB – Observer
  3. Governor Meeting Attendance Records

    Governor Meeting Attendance Records:


  4. Pecuniary Interests

    Pecuniary Interests:

    Current Employment None Winterbourne JGS Sutton High School Sage Retired Deutsche Bank Network Rail
    Business None None None None None None None
    Company Directorship None None None None None None None
    Charity Trusteeships None None None None None None None
    Membership of other Bodies etc None None None ICAEW None None CIB
    Trainee RICS
    Other conflicts None None None None None None None None
    Family/close connections None None None None None None None Daughter at  school
    Company directorships etc None None None None None None None
    Governorship at other schools Bishop Thomas Grant
    St Piran’s
    None None None None None None